Marin Builders Association awards $16,500 in scholarships

Marin-area high school students have been awarded $16,500 in college scholarships in the annual Marin Builders Association scholarship program for 2018.

The awards will be presented May 24 at a reception hosted by Jason’s restaurant in Greenbrae.

Scholarship winners are Monica Poblano, of Pinole Valley High School, $3,000; Alyssa Estrella-Moody, of San Rafael High School, $2,500; Anais Nagle, of Sir Francis Drake High School, $1,500.

Winners of $1,000 scholarships were: Lilian Covarrubias Razo, of Terra Linda High School; Abigail Floyd, of Sir Francis Drake High School; Joseph Garbarino, of Marin Catholic High School; Cameron Lind, of Redwood High School; and Stephen Thompson, San Marin High School.

Winners of $500 scholarships were: Shae Daly, of San Rafael High School; Nashielli Diaz, of The Branson School; Lauren Enslin, of San Marin High School; Emily Farrell, of Marin Catholic High School; Gabriel Garcia, of Novato High School; Cristina Golubovich, of Sonoma Valley High School; Sarah Groff, of Rancho Cotate High School; Aaqib Ismail, of Tamalpais High School; and Kenzie Morgenlaender, of Marin Catholic High School.

Scholarships were determined after an initial screening of applicants and interviews by an independent selection committee that included Ken Lippi, assistant superintendent, Marin County Office of Education; Cynthia Murray, president and CEO of the North Bay Leadership Council; and Rob Devincenzi, president and publisher of the Marin Independent Journal.

Since 1978 the association has awarded nearly $1 million in scholarships to local high school students who are pursuing a higher education at a college, university or trade school.